IEA Clean Coal Centre
The global resource on the clean use of coal
IEA Clean Coal Centre \ Membership Section \ Members of the IEA Clean Coal Centre
Members of the IEA Clean Coal Centre

Currently, the IEA Clean Coal Centre has 19 members, made up of member countries and sponsoring organisations.

The member countries are: Australia*, the European Commission, Germany, Italy, Japan, Poland, South Africa and the USA.
The sponsors are: Anglo American, Banpu, BHEL, Beijing Research Institute of Coal Chemistry (BRICC), Doosan Babcock (UK), Drax, Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) GE power (UK) Greenbank Group (UK) Electric Power Planning and Engineering Institute (EPPEI) of China, and Suek.
* Australian membership comprises the government and the Australian Coal Industry Consortium.

Benefits of membership
Members get direct access to the expertise of the IEA CCC and the impartial analysis and information that we provide. Members benefit from extensive international networking in a collaborative setting. Members decide on the work programme of the Centre and so direct our research. Residents of member countries and employees of sponsoring organisations can download IEA CCC reports at no charge, after a one-off registration. Members are associated with an impartial organisation with a prestigious international reputation for the quality of its analysis,

Types of membership
The IEA Clean Coal Centre has two categories of membership :
•Contracting Parties, which can be governments or entities nominated by them. They can also be international organisations in which governments participate.
•Sponsors, which are usually, but not always, from the private sector and have not been designated by a government. Sponsors have to be approved by the IEA and cannot vote on the accession or rejection of new members.

Executive committee 
Members of  the IEA Clean Coal Centre contribute annually to a common fund to finance the activities of the programme. There is a set subscription rate for new sponsors. An Executive Committee (ExCo) of representatives nominated by the contracting parties and sponsors acts as the ‘board of directors'. The ExCo meet twice each year. Both sponsors and contracting parties have a single vote at ExCo meetings, which means that they have an equal influence over the work programme and policies. Prof Jurgen-Freidrich Hake of Germany is the current Chair of the Executive Committee and Barry MacColl of South Africa is the Vice Chair. 

Membership Profile
Members of the IEA Clean Coal Centre represent a wide range of interests. Most, but not all, of the member countries are members of the OECD. The majority of the sponsor  organisations are from non-OECD countries. The sponsors include utilities, coal companies, equipment and services suppliers and research organisations.  

For membership enquiries contact:
Dr Andrew Minchener OBE
General Manager
IEA Clean Coal Centre
London SW18 1DD
Tel: +44 (0)208 877 6288


Member Countries and Sponsoring Organisations


Information or material of the Technology Collaboration Programme (TCP) on Clean Coal Centre (CCC TCP) (formally organised under the auspices of the Implementing Agreement for the IEA Clean Coal Centre), does not necessarily represent the views or policies of the IEA Secretariat or of the IEA’s individual Member countries. The IEA does not make any representation or warranty (express or implied) in respect of such information (including as to its completeness, accuracy or non-infringement) and shall not be held liable for any use of, or reliance on, such information.

IEA Clean Coal Centre,  Apsley House, Third Floor, 176 Upper Richmond Road, London, SW15 2SH.  United Kingdom
Tel +44 (0)20 3905 3870